Poetic Exercise

Posted on January 12, 2012

0


We had a visiting poet at our school this week. He was fantastic. He brought some writing exercises to classes and workshops. This is what I produced from the writing exercises.

Exercise #1

Self-Portrait as Clearance Rack of Near-Expired Scratch & Dents

Altair
Skypole
Thistle
Flaking skin of garlic bulb
Clearance rack of near-expired scratch and dents
A basket of rocks
Shoelaces frayed at ends
Do as I say, not as I do
South Georgia Island
Seoul, South Korea
Where cheongmal breaks the oppressive heat of summer
What is the sound of one hand clapping?
Smokey Bear, to say “only you can…”
I’m most like my dead father
who could whistle pitch perfect tunes during whirling military maneuvers
Barn Owl
Coyote
Leafy Sea Dragon
Silver trumpet tarnished by unuse
Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
If you get there before I do
Tell all my friends I’m coming too

Exercise #2

Testimony as Metaphor

Back when I was Jupiter, following Venus
Back when Things were called tongue and cense
Back when summer was naked and sea spray
The world called out and I answered
I lived between Yesan and Seoul
Between spoonfuls of sand and sound
I was Heroes & Villains and Pop & Lock
I was the spotted hawk
Will you be there when I get home?
I know two things: You exist, and so do I
I gave this promise to the world: To at least try.

These are not poems, but exercises. It felt good to write again. It was nice to see others who write. It is nice to finally be in a place where people read and write.

Posted in: Life, Poetry, Writing