Always Have An Escape Plan

Posted on July 12, 2011

0


My trusty road atlas that has always given me a sense of direction (escape route in yellow)

Q: “I’ve always tried to teach you two things: First, never let them see you bleed.”

Bond: “And the second?”

Q: “Always have an escape plan.

Epic Journey Part I:  Escape From Florida

The house is under contract.  Check that box off.

The house is almost all boxed.  Check that box off (pun intended).

The trip is almost planned.

Or not.

Rule #1 when planning cross-country trips.  Don’t plan too much.

This is a hard rule for me to follow.  I’m unusually anal when it comes to matters this serious.  Journeys of this epic proportion must be taken seriously.

So I plan.  Far too much.

Kokkiree has actually called me on issues of this before.  I take some things a bit too seriously when it comes to plans or shopping or options.  It took far too much weighing-of-options hand-wringing for me to even purchase a new car.  Imagine trying to plan a cross-country trip.

And a cross-country trip has way too many options.  Do we stop here and see that?  Do we stop there and see this?  Where are the fastest and most populace places to refuel?  What roads don’t take us to backwoods Texas?

So you break it down.  I’m fairly positive that I have day 1 properly planned.

Luckily, the first day doesn’t actually involve too much planning.

After the movers pack up all our west-bound stuff, we’ll go on our merry way.

There’s only one stop planned for Florida.

That’s it.  That’s all we need.

We’ve had enough of this place (ask me about the Target incident today).

Then we’ll have escaped.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Florida