EcoTerrorism?

Posted on June 30, 2011

3


This new film explores the controversial topic of ideological differences.

I’m fascinated by this topic because I will be teaching a course on environmental literature in the coming year.

I’ve been reading a lot of articles, going through old books, old essays, online pieces, and print journalism.

I’m fascinated with the coverage of environmental awareness, and yet I experience in so many people the apathy towards environmental issues.

By no means am I a zealot.  I barely border on being a full 100% supporter of these environmental movements.  Yet, I do my part by reducing my carbon footprint, using energy efficient things, trying to walk when I can, or supporting organizations (like the link on my sidebar – hint, hint).  I recycle and reduce and reuse.

Yet, it does seem to me that so many people fail to do any of this.  They would rather just throw something away because the recycling bin is too far.

So, how do we combat the apathy of the general American public?

Do we burn buildings?  Do we break things?  Do we attack whaling ships?  Do we physically harm others?

How far are we willing to go to actually “save” Planet Earth?

Posted in: Politics