Four Days

Posted on June 6, 2011

0


Today was uneventful.

Except for all the crap I gave people about their jobs next year.

So on to the list!

#4 – The faculty was informed that they were going to be spending next year’s faculty retreat was a five hour day at a prayer center 90 minutes away and that they had to provide their own transportation.  I responded, “that sucks.  My faculty retreat is a five day camping trip at 10, 400 feet in the shadow of Mt. Whitney.”

#3 – Today, many faculty were complaining about how all the new faculty hires were being given preferential treatment with course selection, and how it made the “senior” faculty members feel less appreciated.  I responded, “that really isn’t fair.  I mean, the school I’m going to gave me the option of creating a special senior elective that I’ll get to teach to only 12 seniors.  And it only lasts 20 weeks, so I’ll be done with that by March!”

#2 – The faculty had to sign over their life on a “technology liability” form that placed the onus of technology issues with next year’s iPad roll-out on the faculty member.  “Wow, you sure do have to sign your life over to the school,” I said.  “By the way, have you even yet signed your teaching contract for next year? Muah ha ha ha!”

#1 – Several faculty members complained about end-of-year meetings that they had to attend.  “I’m not coming back next year,” I said.  “I’m not going to the meeting if it’s about next year.”  The Assistant Principal stared at me and then said, “You really are a pain.  What? Are you too good for us now?”  She laughs.  To which I replied, “Yes.”

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Teaching