Teacher Tickets

Posted on May 14, 2011

4


Students can be very generous.

In the past, I’ve had students bake me cookies, brownies, cakes, cupcakes, and treats.

I’ve had students give me gift cards and gift baskets.

I’ve had students write thank you notes, cards of appreciation, and letters of gratitude.

Most of the gifts are the standard Starbucks gift card, Target gift card, or Barnes and Noble gift card.  They are generally sealed in small thank you notes or holiday cards.

I’ve always appreciated the gifts and thanked them for thinking of me.  I don’t expect it, but it’s been a nice perk of the job.  My first year of teaching high school at an all-boys school lead to gifts like ties and gift cards to Target.  Once, I received a free round of golf at the champions golf course.  Another time, I received tickets to a professional sports game.  Another time, I was given gift card to the swanky steak house in town.

But, this is the first time I’ve received tickets to a concert.  Sure, I mentioned that I liked this band in class one day.  In fact, it was in the fall semester when I talked about good music and why most of the stuff the students listened to wasn’t that good.

Of course, there are always a few students who have that college-radio inspired listening list, but for the most part students are limited in their notion of constitutes good music.

Either way, the conversation must have stuck because I mentioned this band as one that intrigued me.  I’d caught some of their performances and videos on the infamous YouTube and thought that the energy these two people brought was pretty infectious.

This year, the gift-giving was a presented a bit more dramatically because the students know this is my last year at this school.  I am moving on to another school.  They presented me with a farewell party (most likely an excuse to get out of classwork – although technically classwork is over), and they also presented me with these two concert tickets.

I don’t know if we’ll go, but it was a nice gesture to remember something I mentioned last semester.  I mean, Kokkiree and I aren’t really the target audience for this band.  But, I wouldn’t mind getting out with her and having some fun watching a good band perform live.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Teaching