Dish

Posted on May 8, 2011

0


One meal does not make the day.

Unless it’s really good.

Most Americans make random days like Thanksgiving or Super Bowl Sunday their one day of gustatory glory.  They gorge on bland turkey and processed ham, while guzzling beer and snacking on corn chips and store bought salsa.

I would rather make spectacular meals on on Wednesdays for no reason other than the fact that I can.  For me, food is a way to show my love, my passion, and my creativity.  It’s also a way to test my culinary cunning.

The test of a real man is to see what he can do with a kitchen and a knife.

So, I try to do something new in the kitchen at least once every other week.  We have the standards that we go to, but as the cliché goes – variety is the spice of life.

I was planning on cooking a brunch/lunch/early dinner for Mother’s Day.  I knew it would be seafood or lamb, but I wasn’t sure how to prepare it.  I once did a Moroccan Lamb Tagine that was eaten very quickly.  I’ve also done a typical, but delicious, Sea Scallops wrapped in Bacon.  But, once done, it’s time to try something new.

Then, serendipity.  Kokkiree posted a recipe on my FB wall last week.  It was for a slow-roasted leg of lamb. It called for ten different ingredients, one of which would prove impossible to find.

Luckily for her, I don’t follow recipes.

Slow-Cooked Lamb Shanks with Pomegranate and Wine Sauce

  • 2 – One pound Lamb Shanks (Free-range, all-natural)
  • Lots of garlic
  • Lots of carrots
  • Fresh Oregano sprigs
  • Merlot
  • Pomegranate juice
  • Sea Salt
  • Olive Oil
  • Pine Nuts
  • Step One – Make finely minced garlic, olive oil, and sea salt mixture.  Marinate lamb shanks in plastic food storage bag for two – three hours.
  • Step Two – Pre-heat oven to Broil (500°) and place lamb shanks in deep dish with 1/2 cup of merlot.  Broil for 10 minutes.
  • Step Three – Remove from broiler.  Reduce oven to bake at 325°.  Meanwhile, add 1/2 cup pomegranate juice, garlic cloves, carrots, and fresh oregano sprigs to lamb shanks.  Cook for 20 minutes covered with lid.
  • Step Four – Remove from oven.  Flip lamb shanks.  Cover with foil and seal tightly.  Cover with lid.  Cook for two hours.
  • Step Five – Remove from oven. Add pine nuts. Cover again and set aside to rest and cool.
  • Step Six – Make grain blend and pomegranate sauce.  High heat.  Pomegranate juice, butter, corn starch, pomegranate marmalade or molasses, honey.  Stir and lower heat.  Stir and let thicken.  At same time, cook couscous, pressed barley, quinoa with butter and olive oil.
  • Step Seven – Serve all food and drizzle sauce and au jus over tender lamb shanks.  Meat should have completely pulled off bone and be easy to pull apart with fork.

Happy Mother’s Day, sweetie.  I love you.  Hope you had your fill.  Don’t forget the leftovers for lunch!

I know both girls ate well, and also our dog.  All three are passed out while I write this blog post.  The dog sleeps sprawled on the carpet.  The child sleeps; arm draped over the dog.  My love sleeps next to me on the couch as I type, her legs wrapped around mine.

The sun is just now fading, and our living room is cast in a hazy blue light recalling the earlier swim at our pool.

A beautiful end to Mother’s Day 2011.

Tagged:
Posted in: Food, The Wife